The Arts & Letters Committee

Co-Chairs: Ashley Lawrence / Nicole Farmer

This committee is committed to enhancing the community and sorority member’s awareness, knowledge, and activities in performance art and literacy.


Co-Chairs: Cheryl Edwards / Essie Washington-Bennett

Maintains all chapter properties

Delta Academy

Co-Chairs: Michelle Golding / Ora Dunham

This committee offers girls ages 14-18 a road map for college and career planning, conducts activities that provide opportunities for self-reflection and individual growth.

EMBODI (Empowering Males to Build Opportunities for Developing Independence)

Co-Chairs: Ruth Howard / Kia Dunn

This committee is designed to refocus the efforts of Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc., with the support and action of other major organizations, on the plight of African-American males.

ERT (Emergency Response Team)

Co-Chairs: DeShanda Johnson / Essie Washington-Bennett

This committee is to Increase awareness about emergency preparedness activities; Provide structured and systematic training for the membership’s Readiness, Response, and Recovery efforts; Provide steps for early response and efficient recovery. #DSTHCACMD_ERT

Financial Fortitude

Co-Chairs: Carla Walton / Stacey A. Johnson

This committee is an Economic Development initiative which helps participants set and define financial goals, assist with developing and implementing an action plan, and offers information and resources on budgeting, debt management, savings and investments, retirement planning, and home ownership.


Co-Chairs: Quintina Erby / Turshandah Cole

This committee supports our annual scholarship awards for Harford and Cecil County high school seniors and other public service endeavors by raising funds through fundraising efforts.

Healthy Lifestyles

Co-Chairs: Kim Floyd / Valerie Pogue

This committee promotes Journey to Wellness: Committing our Bodies to Physical and Mental Health is now the signature Physical and Mental Health “call to action.” DST-HCAC is positioned to impact not only the well-being of its membership but also the well-being of families and communities at large.


Chair Ricketa Clifton

This committee provides hospitality to both chapter members and visiting Sorors and promotes fellowship within the Chapter.

International Awareness

Co-Chairs: Chauntelle Akinnuoye / Tesha Doyle

This committee mission is to raise both the level of awareness of the needs of the global community and the level of involvement in addressing global issues.

Membership Services

Co-Chair: Lora Williams / Michelle Moore-Wright

This committee is responsible for developing and promoting continuous programs for the retention and reclamation of sorors.

Public Relations


This committee is responsible for sending information about Chapter programs, activities, and meetings with the local media and other community organizations, with the approval of the President.

Risk Management

Chair Kira Sconion

This committee is responsible for conducting training on the policies, procedures, guidelines, conducts interviews and background checks on all members and volunteers seeking to work with the HCACMD youth programs.


Chair Cheryl Edwards

This committee assists the Chapter President in keeping order at all times. Also, to maintain order and security.


Co-Chairs: Lora Williams / Carolyn Jefferson-Leach

This committee is devoted to providing scholarships to well-deserving high school students in Harford/Cecil Counties of Maryland.

Social Action

Co-Chairs: Constance Rosser / Constance Buckley

This committee is focused on ongoing initiatives that confront legislative & voter apathy. The committee is responsible for ensuring the Chapter follows guidelines provided by Grand Chapter for protocols and traditions.


Chair: Olivia Rosser

This committee provides technology training and consulting to the President and the Chapter members. Primary responsibilities include updating the Chapter’s website, social media, email addresses and implementing Grand Chapter actions requiring technology.