National History

Our Sorority

Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc. (DST) is a, not-for-profit organization whose purpose is to provide assistance and support through established programs in local communities throughout the world.

Founded on January 13, 1913 by twenty-two collegiate women at Howard University, the Sorority is currently a sisterhood of more than 200,000 predominately Black college educated women.

Founders of Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc.

Osceola Macarthy Adams Edna Brown Coleman Pauline Oberdorfer Minor Ethel Carr Watson
Marguerite Young Alexander Jessie McGuire Dent Vashti Turley Murphy Wertie Blackwell Weaver
Winona Cargile Alexander Frederica Chase Dodd Naomi Sewell Richardson Madree Penn White
Ethel Cuff Black Myra Davis Hemmings Mamie Reddy Rose  Edith Motte Young
Bertha Pitts Campbell Olive C Jones Eliza Pearl Shippen
Zephyr Chisom Carter Jimmie Bugg Middleton Florence Letcher Toms  

This includes over 900 chapters located in the United States, England, Japan (Tokyo and Okinawa), Germany, the Virgin Islands, Bermuda, the Bahamas, and the Republic of Korea.

The major programs of the sorority are based upon the organization’s
Five-Point Programmatic Thrust:

  1. Economic Development
  2. Physical and Mental Health
  3. Educational Development
  4. Political Awareness and Involvement
  5. International Awareness and Involvement

For more information, visit our national website at